Snow White Designer Collection Concept and Materials

Snow White is the first in a long run of Disney princesses. So it felt right that were I to make her again it would most definitely be a regal gown. Something befitting of royalty. Inspired by the Designer Collection. And I just love the vivid reds, blues, and golds. This is my second rendition of Snow White, the first was a steampunk version based on concept art that was never completed. I wore it anyways, a few times and haven’t had the need to finish it. Only the trim is missing.
Back onto this project. It has been in the back of my mind for the better part of two months before I started to collect supplies for it. I first started with the organza and satin Shantung, which I purchased for another project that I lost interest in. The next item was beaded lace that will be used as an overlay. My store didn’t stock the color I needed. They did however have rit dye and colorshot cans by tulip. I purchased materials over the span of a month in-between visits for other items required for other costumes.
I already have a corset and petticoats for the base of this costume. So those are not required at this time.
Materials:
Bodice- 1.5 yards of Blue Matte Satin, 1 yard of Red Peachskin (the satin wasn’t a rich enough or deep enough hue), 3/4 yard of velvet, 2 yards blue regal trim, Boning, Embroidery Floss, 1 yard twill, 3 yards decorative lace trim, 1 Colorshot can.
Collar- .5 yard of White Matte Satin, .5 yard White Lace, Thread, wire, electrical tape.
Skirt-3 yards Gold Shantung, 3 yards Gold Organza, 3 yards Beaded Lace Overlay, 6 cans of Colorshot Gold Shimmer, .1 yard twill, twill tape, Yellow Dye,
I am sorry to say this, but I lack pictures for this costume because of the amount of time I had to make this. I kind of zoomed right through it.

Author: consortcreations

This blog is all about my sewing adventures. Whether it be cosplay, historical-esque, or original designs. You will find all of those things here. I am 26, I have been sewing for a total of two and a half years. I started it as something fun, a small hobby. But it has turned into a bigger part of my life. Bigger than I thought it would be. I am completely self-taught. That is I had no first hand sewing teacher. I learned through the power of trial and error as well as reading blogs. The inspiration to sew came from many places. Television and literature being the two biggest. And I figured, I might as well try to make it myself, it would be more cost effective than paying someone else to make it. Besides how hard could it be? And boy was it hard. But then not so much. It is just trying something and if that didn’t work try it another way. If you have any questions, just ask. Or if you want to comment feel free.

Leave a comment