Anastasia Ending Ball Gown Concept and Materials

As you can probably tell by the title I am now working on the Anastasia ball gown from the end of the Anastasia animated film from 1997. A great film if you haven’t already seen it. She wears many wonderful dresses and pieces from the film. This dress isn’t for a specific con. In my state they are holding a Princess Parade for the children at a mall and I will be there as Anastasia. It is mainly Disney but I requested to make Anastasia and I was able too.

I have already done a steampunk version of Snow White, and I plan on doing a more correct one for later and there were many other options I wanted to do. But having recently watched this while sewing I decided I would try to tackle her ball gown at the end of the film. I won’t give away any spoilers, other than that of course.

There are quite a few supplies I needed for this costume.

Petticoat- 6 yards fabric, ruffle edge.

Ball Gown:

Skirt-6 yards golden fabric for the skirt, two yards of white satin, 4 yards pink fabric for under, 4 yards pink chiffon for over, thread, embroidery, sequins, beads, pearls, cording,

Bodice- 1 yard of the same gold fabric for the skirt, left over white satin from the skirt, 1 yards pink fabric, 1 yards pink chiffon, embroidery, sequins, beads, pearls, cording, boning, lacing, grommets

Other needs:

Crown, Necklace, Bracelet, Shoes.

P.S. This is a post heavy costume, I think roughly five. Not sure yet. I made a hooped crinoline for this, but I didn’t end up using it so I will save that post for later on.

Author: consortcreations

This blog is all about my sewing adventures. Whether it be cosplay, historical-esque, or original designs. You will find all of those things here. I am 26, I have been sewing for a total of two and a half years. I started it as something fun, a small hobby. But it has turned into a bigger part of my life. Bigger than I thought it would be. I am completely self-taught. That is I had no first hand sewing teacher. I learned through the power of trial and error as well as reading blogs. The inspiration to sew came from many places. Television and literature being the two biggest. And I figured, I might as well try to make it myself, it would be more cost effective than paying someone else to make it. Besides how hard could it be? And boy was it hard. But then not so much. It is just trying something and if that didn’t work try it another way. If you have any questions, just ask. Or if you want to comment feel free.

Leave a Reply

