Inara Serra Firefly Shindig Gold Pictures

Here are the completed photos of my Inara Serra Ball Gown. It took me a while to sew in the new zipper after it broke at the con. I had a mishap in this costume. When I took it off for a break I got lipstick on the inside and while cleaning it I broke the zipper. Unfortunately I only wore it for about three hours. Which was quite sad.

These pictures are taken at the beginning of April and this was made back in September. I have lost an inch and a half in the waist, so it doesn’t quite fit. It also has ripples in the bodice. Which I can’t seem to get rid of without boning the entire bodice and taking it in a bit. Which I am not going to do. I plan on remaking this one day, so I don’t feel the need for that. I may try and stitch rigilene bones done the front side seams and back side seams that connect to the side seam. But I will have to figure out some kind of pattern to imprint on it if I do so you won’t see the stitching lines. Who knows maybe stencils will be my friend.

04022017 1149

I hope you enjoyed this process as much as I have. The plan for the fall is to try and tackle the jumpsuit if I have time for it. Thank you for reading and expect the next post in about a week.

Author: consortcreations

This blog is all about my sewing adventures. Whether it be cosplay, historical-esque, or original designs. You will find all of those things here. I am 26, I have been sewing for a total of two and a half years. I started it as something fun, a small hobby. But it has turned into a bigger part of my life. Bigger than I thought it would be. I am completely self-taught. That is I had no first hand sewing teacher. I learned through the power of trial and error as well as reading blogs. The inspiration to sew came from many places. Television and literature being the two biggest. And I figured, I might as well try to make it myself, it would be more cost effective than paying someone else to make it. Besides how hard could it be? And boy was it hard. But then not so much. It is just trying something and if that didn’t work try it another way. If you have any questions, just ask. Or if you want to comment feel free.

Leave a Reply

