Inara Serra Firefly Gold Part 3 Tidbits

This part is about making both headpieces and fixing the gloves.

Starting with the gloves, I searched everywhere in town for satin gloves, and the only gloves that had a satin look were some cheap costume gloves from a costume shop. Since there wasn’t enough time to make gloves or enough time to buy them online I just purchased the white costume gloves. I made a coffee bath for the gloves, and then a tea bath for them. I wanted them an ivory cream color and not stark white. I left them in the baths for thirty minutes, removed them from the water and set them to dry overnight on a towel. The next day I put them in the washer and dryer. They ended up a little more beige pink than planned, but you cannot really tell in the pictures. The only other thing that I needed to do was to shorten the length. I shortened them by 2.5 to 3 inches. That finished the gloves.

For the headpiece I purchased about 5 inches of the cream peach skin. Cut that into 4 strips. Pinned two strips together and sewed down each of the strips length wise. Folding out the piece and turning the seams inward was the most time consuming of the process. I took a safety-pin, stuck it to the outside and then painstakingly put it through the loop. Fold down the edges inward, sew closed. After ironing the headband flat, I marked where the beading will start and end, then sewed a line down the center to make a placement for the beads. This made the beading process easier. Then the next hour or two I spent beading the headpiece. Once again you do not have to follow the same beading process I did. That is optional. When the beading is done, the first headpiece is finished.

Here is what the headpiece looks like.

Second headpiece was easier. I already owned a metal piece for setting stones into it. Kind of like a filigree stamping, but this one has a place to inlay a stone in the center. I used a pearl shell I purchased at a bead shop, and gemstones that were purchased at another bead shop. To set these into the headpiece you will need to use an E6000 type of glue or a jewelry glue. When you use this type of glue make sure to wear a mask or stay in a well ventilated area. The only other thing to add to the headpiece left is a clamp to secure it to your hair.

132

The last thing I did for this costume was to buy the necklace set online. I purchased an Indian Bollywood style necklace set. I bought matching chain to turn the headpiece of the set into a slave style bracelet that Inara wears with her jewelry. Because I found the earrings to be a bit heavy, I took off the extra bling and used earring hooks to replace the straight earrings. They were still a bit too heavy for my ears and I just bought a gold and pearl set of earrings instead.

133

By some miracle of a chance I was able to find gold shoes the day before a con for the low price of 18 dollars. It was the only pair of gold shoes in all the shops I went to.

140I will say this, if I were to wear this again, which I will at some point, then I will make the gloves from scratch.

That is all for this series of post on this costume of Inara Serra. I hope you enjoyed reading the process and found it informative. If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask. And thank you.

Author: consortcreations

This blog is all about my sewing adventures. Whether it be cosplay, historical-esque, or original designs. You will find all of those things here. I am 26, I have been sewing for a total of two and a half years. I started it as something fun, a small hobby. But it has turned into a bigger part of my life. Bigger than I thought it would be. I am completely self-taught. That is I had no first hand sewing teacher. I learned through the power of trial and error as well as reading blogs. The inspiration to sew came from many places. Television and literature being the two biggest. And I figured, I might as well try to make it myself, it would be more cost effective than paying someone else to make it. Besides how hard could it be? And boy was it hard. But then not so much. It is just trying something and if that didn’t work try it another way. If you have any questions, just ask. Or if you want to comment feel free.

Leave a Reply

