Inara Serra Firefly Shindig Gold Concept and Materials

This costume hadn’t originally been in the planning. But my red and gold Training House outfit from the movie had fallen through. I purchased the wrong weight fabric for the jumpsuit. It was a great color match, good quality, but a little heavier and thus didn’t drape quite right. Because of that when I sewed the finishing touches of the jumpsuit, like the hem and the neckline, it wasn’t good. You could see all the holes in the material from the front were I straight stitched down the edges. I was going to sew down the seams on the inside, but that would have made it even worse. By this point I gave up and called it quits. Drove to the fabric shop to buy the satin, but my store was either sold out completely of that color or the color I need was discontinued. Either way that isn’t a good thing.

At this point I had two options, choose a variant fabric that is a similar color or go with a new costume completely. Option A didn’t work. There was no similar fabric at any of the Joann stores (there are three within an hour drive), the only one that would work was the one I already tried.

So I went with option B, and since my plan is to make one a year I needed to choose another one of her gowns. I’ve already made the Jaynestown Red and Blue/Purple, as well as the black and gold one from the movie, and the Red and black one from the episode called Trash. And Inara has so many lovely costumes to choose from. She is always my go to for costumes. She was the first costume I’ve ever done. Her clothes are the reason I wanted to learn how to sew.. This will be my fourth one. And as you can see from the title, I’ve chosen to do her lovely cream and gold gown from Shindig. Not sure if I have the time to finish it along with the two others, but I will sure as hell not stop until I am finished with them all. So far at this point I have almost finished one, I am so close that I put it aside for now. All that is left is adding the lacing through the leg and fray check.

TOSHIBA Exif JPEG

Enough with that costume, back to this one. Since it is so last minute of a choice, and I only have one fabric at the moment, I need a shopping list. Only problem, at this point I don’t want to rely too much with online purchases, I have 38 days left. With that in mind, my choices of fabrics are seriously diminished. I will need to make do with what I have and recon fabrics that will work.

Skirt-2 yards bridal satin (I nixed that and went with a lovely peach skin instead), 2 yards of an opalescent off white chiffon/organza (I found the perfect one at JoAnns fabrics), 2 yards beaded lace for an overlay, satin trim for the bottom?, elastic?, invisible zip?, fusible interfacing, lining.

Bodice-1 yard satin/shantung, steel boning, pair of underwire for bra?, 1 yard cream golden sheen for breast and sleeves (I used a charmeuse instead, Satin bias tape (unless I decide to fold the edge over to finish), lots of pearls, invisible zip, hooks and eyes…

Other Needs- Gold and pearl Indian jewelry, pearl headband, filigree stamping, gold slave bracelet, gold ivory gloves, gold shoes, and cosmetic gemstones.

(A lot of my choices have changed on materials I used, my store being this close to Halloween has a diminished supply of the fabrics I need and not only that a few lines of fabric were discontinued. So, my gown is more ivory and less gold than I wanted. As a result I may redo this outfit in correct colors later.)

I am pretty sure that is all I will need to purchase for this costume. If not, I will let you know in the coming posts. Thank you for reading.

Author: consortcreations

This blog is all about my sewing adventures. Whether it be cosplay, historical-esque, or original designs. You will find all of those things here. I am 26, I have been sewing for a total of two and a half years. I started it as something fun, a small hobby. But it has turned into a bigger part of my life. Bigger than I thought it would be. I am completely self-taught. That is I had no first hand sewing teacher. I learned through the power of trial and error as well as reading blogs. The inspiration to sew came from many places. Television and literature being the two biggest. And I figured, I might as well try to make it myself, it would be more cost effective than paying someone else to make it. Besides how hard could it be? And boy was it hard. But then not so much. It is just trying something and if that didn’t work try it another way. If you have any questions, just ask. Or if you want to comment feel free.

Leave a Reply

