Evil Queen OUAT Shattered Sight Part 4 Embellishing and Headpiece

This post will be very short. There isn’t much to discuss here. It was a little difficult for me to see the pattern clearly. So this is what my interpretation of the embellished design on the jacket.

When ordering gemstones for this project I ordered the size 4mm, which was a mistake. The gems were larger than I wanted, but I used them anyways. When I have a chance to order the small gems I will post a photo of what the jacket and corset look like at that point. But as of now, I still do not have them ordered and I am working on other projects at the moment. I will get back to it before I plan to wear it again. Not any time soon. Probably not until spring next year.

Because of the wrong gems my pattern isn’t as well done as I would like it to be. I first started with the jacket. On the right side first at the bottom. I purchased a gem setter pen in case my pen broke in the middle of use, I also purchased the gem setter iron. I don’t recommend the iron. It doesn’t seem to get hot enough to melt the glue on the gems. And the gem setter pens worked, but they took up so much time it was hard to get anything else done. It took roughly 6 hours of sitting on the ground and setting gems to the jacket. And that was just have the time holding the pen in place waiting for the glue to heat up, that or trying to pick up a gem. Very time consuming. I didn’t have time for the collar or the sleeves at this point. Barely had any time for the corset to get gemmed.

The gemstones are very beautiful, until you heat them; they lose their shininess once they get heated. And that was a bummer. I lost all of the sparkle effect. I still felt pretty awesome, but just a tad off.

On a side note, if I didn’t hold the gem in place for at least 30 seconds the gem would easily pop off.

I feel like I had a better chance of putting gems on if I hadn’t purchased the heat ones. I did read Angela Clayton’s post on her Elsa gown, amazing costumer of both historical and cosplay (definitely check out her work). Beside that little bit of a run off thought sentence, I read her post on how she added gems to the cape and figured I would follow her method for the smaller gems I will add. If need be I may remove the old gems and just use the smaller gems. If I can get the gems to pop off easily with no mess. I don’t know how it will go.

Here are some up close images of the gemstones on the corset and jacket.

For the headpiece, it was pretty easy, and pretty to make. I had almost all the supplies needed to make this headpiece. The only two items I needed to purchase was a filigree stamping and a center stone. I already owned the gems and the beads. Mine isn’t exactly screen accurate. I used the base of what they had, the same shape of the base that is. My filigree stamping was from Michaels and the center stone came from a bead shop.

stamping
This image is from the Michaels website.

The center stone went on the filigree stamping first, in the center. I chose a black stone. Next I made a layout for the gems I would add, the gems I used were hotfix however I used E6000 to apply them to the stamping. I made sure to have both sides of the stamping the same.  And then I took out two kinds of beads that I owned in my stash that are reflective at angles.

I wanted three strands hanging down, not freely, tied off to the other side of the stamping. The two on the outer will be smaller than the one in the center. I have only made three headpieces before. I made it while waiting for the clear gems for my costume. I wish I had a picture of this stage, but I do not. I don’t even have a picture of the finished piece. To help attach it to my hair I used a mini comb that I glued on with E6000.

Here is a drawing of what it looked like. Obviously the one I made was better than this drawing.

stamping-design

The black strings are strands of beads, and the red dots are the black gemstones.

Here is the image of the necklace and the gloves. I already owned leather gloves and did not see a reason to make them. As gloves are hard enough to make without adding the difficulties of leather being involved.

selenejill-174

Thank you for taking the time to read this. As always if you have any questions, feel free to ask. Until next time, bye.

Author: consortcreations

This blog is all about my sewing adventures. Whether it be cosplay, historical-esque, or original designs. You will find all of those things here. I am 26, I have been sewing for a total of two and a half years. I started it as something fun, a small hobby. But it has turned into a bigger part of my life. Bigger than I thought it would be. I am completely self-taught. That is I had no first hand sewing teacher. I learned through the power of trial and error as well as reading blogs. The inspiration to sew came from many places. Television and literature being the two biggest. And I figured, I might as well try to make it myself, it would be more cost effective than paying someone else to make it. Besides how hard could it be? And boy was it hard. But then not so much. It is just trying something and if that didn’t work try it another way. If you have any questions, just ask. Or if you want to comment feel free.

Leave a Reply

