Evil Queen OUAT Shattered Sight Part 2 Pants

The pants were undoubtedly the easiest thing to make in this whole costume. That or the headpiece. But I will talk about the headpiece later, when I make a new one, (I lost mine at the con). The pants were made form a pattern from the store. I don’t have the pattern number, but I had to modify that pattern so much I would have had better luck at starting from scratch. The sizing was off, the length was off, the darts. I don’t know what was going on with that pattern.

096
Here is the pants cut out from the pattern I modified.

I had some suede stretch from Yaya Han that I was going to use, but since I didn’t like the outcome of the pants I made for Snow White I went with a matte black jersey. (I do enjoy the Yaya Han line, just need more practice with that much of a stretch.) For 12.49 the price was good for me. I purchased two yards, cut out two pieces of the pattern. One for each leg. And then cut out a rectangle for the waistband, in hindsight I should have made the waistband a little longer, or had the pants pattern come up a little higher (maybe at my waist, because I prefer jersey pants to be at my natural waist. It would probably be more comfortable.

098

Sew the inside seam of the pants together on both legs, after sewing it with a zigzag stitch on my regular machine, I went over the seam with my serger. Now sew both legs together at the crotch seam, and repeat with the serger. I think the edge looks more finished that way. You don’t have to use a serger, the fabric is a jersey and isn’t prone to fraying or having threads pull out.

Warning, that is the last picture I have at this point. I am sorry. But the phone and laptop troubles happened after I finished the costumes for Senshi Con and a few of my Anastasia ones. I tried to recover as many as possible, but there was an issue.

Try them on at this point, check the fit. If they need to be tighter then take them in. If you need a little more room let them out a little and re-sew the seam. It is as simple as that. To make the waistband, take the rectangle of jersey and sew the short edges together to create a loop. Pin one side to the pants at the top. Sew the waistband and the pants together. When this is finished, pin the free edge of the fabric down a half-inch to create a smoother hem. You can hand stitch this if you want, but I chose just to machine stitch. If you pin the waistband from the outside, you can stitch in the ditch. Stitching in the ditch makes the stitches not visible from the outside.

If you add an elastic band in the waistband don’t seal the opening. Use an inch or as wide as your waistband of elastic, cut it the width you need. Insert the elastic using a safety-pin or an elastic threader, I prefer the safety pin. If you have an issue of the elastic slipping all the way into your casing, you need to safety pin the other end of the elastic to the outside of your pants.

Try on your pants. Although there isn’t much you can change on your pants at this point, just the length. Mine fit well enough, I will tweak the pattern just a tiny bit to make the fit perfect. But for my first pair of leggings for myself I am quite happy. Hem the bottoms of each leg by folding them in the amount you need to shorten them. Ideally I should have shortened them a bit more. As they were fairly long and I had to have them pulled up and ruffled a bit at the bottom.

selenejill-144
This image was taken after the con when I realized my pictures were gone.

That’s it. If you have any questions, feel free to ask.  I will probably post another entry later in the day due to how short this one is, but until then, bye.

Author: consortcreations

This blog is all about my sewing adventures. Whether it be cosplay, historical-esque, or original designs. You will find all of those things here. I am 26, I have been sewing for a total of two and a half years. I started it as something fun, a small hobby. But it has turned into a bigger part of my life. Bigger than I thought it would be. I am completely self-taught. That is I had no first hand sewing teacher. I learned through the power of trial and error as well as reading blogs. The inspiration to sew came from many places. Television and literature being the two biggest. And I figured, I might as well try to make it myself, it would be more cost effective than paying someone else to make it. Besides how hard could it be? And boy was it hard. But then not so much. It is just trying something and if that didn’t work try it another way. If you have any questions, just ask. Or if you want to comment feel free.

Leave a Reply

