Evil Queen OUAT Shattered Sight Concept and Materials

The Evil Queen or Regina Mills from Once Upon A Time has always been something I wanted to do. I just couldn’t decide which of her costumes I wanted to do first. If I was going for something regal or evil or red or black, I had no idea. She has many great outfits to choose from and you can sure believe I will make more for her. But as for now, this is the one I have.

shattered-sight-regal

This Costume has been on my to do list ever since I watched the episode Shattered Sight. While watching I noticed one of Regina’s necklaces on the show looked familiar. I had purchased that very necklace years ago at a store in Anchorage. All that remained was everything else I needed to make this costume come to life. Which is technically quite a lot. Those materials are as follows:

Corset- 1 yard of a strength fabric (Coutil, Twill, Denim, Canvas…), 1 yard of interfacing, I yard of red satin, satin ribbon, grosgrain ribbon, grommets, spring steel bones, spiral steel bones, gems, thread, and beads.

Pants- 2 yards of matte jersey, thread, elastic. (It wasn’t until later that I noticed her pants are a velvet or suede.)

Jacket with Peplum and Train- 5 yards of a decorative fabric, 5 yards of satin (matching corset), 5 yards of cotton, thread, gems, beads, interfacing, buckram, grosgrain ribbon, satin ribbon.

Others Needed- Necklace, Over the Knee Boots, Earrings, and Headpiece-Stamping, gems, center stone, beads, E6000.

The first part will be about the corset. As with every costume, you need to start with the base.

Side note: I did have more photos of the costumes and the work in progress pictures, but when I finished all pieces before the convention, my phones screen broke. I backed it up to iTunes and replaced the phone. But my back up was corrupt and no longer usable. And my computer was acting up. So, the only pictures that remained are the pictures that were on my camera. I will try to find more pictures of the in progress and see if they are salvageable. But it isn’t likely. That is the same for Snow White Bandit from Once Upon A Time, as well as Inara Serra from Firefly Shindig.)

Until next time.

Author: consortcreations

This blog is all about my sewing adventures. Whether it be cosplay, historical-esque, or original designs. You will find all of those things here. I am 26, I have been sewing for a total of two and a half years. I started it as something fun, a small hobby. But it has turned into a bigger part of my life. Bigger than I thought it would be. I am completely self-taught. That is I had no first hand sewing teacher. I learned through the power of trial and error as well as reading blogs. The inspiration to sew came from many places. Television and literature being the two biggest. And I figured, I might as well try to make it myself, it would be more cost effective than paying someone else to make it. Besides how hard could it be? And boy was it hard. But then not so much. It is just trying something and if that didn’t work try it another way. If you have any questions, just ask. Or if you want to comment feel free.

Leave a Reply

